Mother Blessing

Today I hosted a baby shower for a dear friend. She is a scientist.  So we made her a science themed mother blessing. It was my idea to put the element Carbon on the cake. The baby shower (we called it a mother blessing to make it more about her than the baby — this is her third). I also made her an Original Journal, complete with the same photo we used on the cake.  Of course, the journal had a Back Door for all those honest, raw thoughts that motherhood muses.

wpid-20150616_114825.jpg

DSC_0751 DSC_0753 DSC_0755 DSC_0775 DSC_0783

The Baby Shower (Mother Blessing) got me thinking about my own journey of motherhood. So I grabbed an Original Journal for a blog post and I pulled out my son’s journal coincidentally.

So this is the post I want to share from my personal motherhood journal. I kept a journal while I was pregnant with my son. The journal is called Ben’s Journal: Letters to My Son.

wpid-img_20150616_143604.jpg

…Awareness is joy. Joy is in the moment. Calm. Breath. My morning yoga of thought.

I am nervous about becoming a mother. Will I show my boy beauty or stress? Will I show him love towards humanity or my own prejudices, hates, and crimes of heart? Will I even know what to do?

Anyway, I am excited to be a mom, finally. After 4 years of trying. It is happening. That is something to be joyous about.

I also like the third paragraph on the left page written in blue ink:

I need to get to a place everyday where I accept that teaching does not define me. I am destined for other things.

What are you destined for? Thanks for following The Original Journal. You’re an original.

Leave a Reply

